Transat Jacques Vabre 2013

The 11th Transat Jacques Vabre started from Le Havre on November 3, 2013, heading for a brand-new destination: Itajai, Brazil. Covering a total of 5,400 nautical miles, the 2013 race was the longest in its history. For his ninth Transat Jacques Vabre, and last at the helm of Safran, Marc Guillemot teamed up with Pascal Bidégorry. Finishing in 17 days, 4 hours, 43 minutes and 23 seconds, the Safran crew came in a close second, after an exciting, high-speed finish.


Transat Jacques Vabre 2011

At 3:00 pm on November 2, 2011, the starting gun set the boats off on the 10th Transat Jacques Vabre, again headed for Puerto Limon in Costa Rica.

Marc Guillemot and Yann Eliès, his co-skipper this year, departed slightly leeward, reefing their main sail and using a code 5 reaching sail (spinnaker).

Safran crossed the finish line in 6th place the morning of November 19, after 16 days, 19 hours, 27 minutes and 52 seconds of sailing.


Transat Jacques Vabre 2009

At 2:30 pm on November 8, 2009, the 14 competitors in the 9th Transat Jacques Vabre set sail for Puerto Limon, in Costa Rica.

Marc Guillemot and Charles Caudrelier Benac, his co-skipper for the second time in this two-handed race, took the lead right from the start.

On November 24, Marc Guillemot and Charles Caudrelier crossed the finish line in first place at 2:52 in the morning, after a thorny approach to the Costa Rican coast. They won a very intense race in 15 days, 19 hours and 22 minutes. 

The coffee roads

In 1993, the first Transat Jacques Vabre, still called The Coffee Road, is run solo. The race starts from Le Havre in France. From 1993 to 1999, the destination is Colombia, in the port of Cathagène. From 2001 to 2007, it introduced a new destination, Salvador de Bahia (Brazil). The following two (2009 – 2011) arrives in Puerto Limon in Costa Rica. Since 2013, the race finishes in Itajai (Brazil).


Pascal Bidégorry (2013)

Pascal Bidégorry, Safran's co-skipper in the 2013 Transat Jacques Vabre along with Marc Guillemot, is one of the most famous names in modern ocean racing. In just 15 years, this navigator from the French Basque region has compiled an exceptional track record. Born in Bayonne in January 1968, Pascal Bidégorry discovered sailing at the age of 16. After a few runs, he quickly caught the competitive fever, with a love for speed and performance! In 2000, Pascal won the prestigious Solitaire du Figaro. But he didn't stop there, as he sailed all classes, from monohull to multihull, maxi and 60'. After being part of Franck Cammas' crew, he became a competitor, most notably at the helm of the ORMA Banque Populaire multihull, which he often guided to victory, in both open ocean racing and regattas. In 2005, Pascal Bidégorry won not only the Transat Jacques Vabre, but also the title of World Champion. The following year he finished second in the Route du Rhum, and was officer of the deck as Bruno Peyron set a new record for an Atlantic crossing. In 2007, he rose to the challenge of the maxi-trimaran class, and was once again very successful.


Yann Eliès (2011)

Yann Eliès is a sailor and a French professional skipper, been born on January 31st, 1974 to Saint Brieuc. He wins the Solitary of the Figaro 2012, thirty three years after his father, Patrick Eliès, winner in 1979. In 2013, he takes away again the Solitary of the Figaro, so becoming the first one to chain two consecutive victories to this race (since the adoption of the one-design sailboat Figaro-Bénéteau). Finally, in 2015, he takes away the third victory. In full round-the-world race, on December 18th, 2008 in the South of Australia, he falls of his boat while he was on the end-outside for a repair of his gennaker. Hurt seriously in the thighbone, it is forced to abandon the race. Marc Guillemot on Safran turned away to give assistance him until his evacuation 3 days later.

Charles Caudrelier Benac (2009)

Charles Caudrelier Benac, born on February 26, 1974 in Fouesnant (Brittany), is a French sailor. After being commissioned by the merchant marine, he very quickly got involved in competitive racing and attended the training center in Port La Forêt. He has often competed in the Figaro circuit, one of the most demanding classes in competitive sailing. Since winning the Solitaire du Figaro in 2004, Charles has chalked up a wide range of experiences.

In 2007, he was chosen by Marc Guillemot as co-skipper for Safran's first entry in the two-handed Transat Jacques Vabre. They teamed up again in 2009, this time winning the transatlantic race.

In 2010, he was one of the two weather routers working for the winner of the Route du Rhum, Franck Cammas. The following year, Charles was helmsman-trimmer-navigator and performance manager on the Groupama 4 during the 2011 - 12 Volvo Ocean Race. The French team won this race after a stirring last leg. On February 26, 2014, his 40th birthday, Charles was named skipper of Team Dongfeng of China, for the 2014-15 Volvo Ocean Race.

PR & News
Hit enter to search or ESC to close