IMOCA Ocean Master races

The IMOCA ocean racing association, founded in 1991, manages the fleet of IMOCA 60 class 60-foot (18.28-meter) monohull racing yachts participating in single- or double-handed ocean races. The IMOCA Ocean Masters World Championship, which now counts more than 30 skippers, includes two round-the-world races, one race around Europe, and several ocean races.

The IMOCA world championship features several famous races, solo or two-handed, each with its own degree of difficulty (a coefficient for the number of points awarded). To win the title, a skipper has to record the most points in the series of races over a period of two years that count for the IMOCA Ocean Masters World Championship.


Legendary races

A major race is organized each year in the autumn. The renowned Vendée Globe and Route du Rhum solo races take place every four years; the Transat Jacques Vabre, a two-handed race, is held every two years.

Other races in the series include the New York to Barcelona Race, the Barcelona World Race, Rolex Fastnet, etc.

On October 25, 2015, the new Safran 60 monohull ocean racer will set off on the latest Transat Jacques Vabre transatlantic race, co-skippered by Morgan Lagravière and Nicolas Lunven.

Hit enter to search or ESC to close